Frail

This morning I had one of those frustrating and eye opening moments as I dropped my son off for school.  As I approached the school there was a small SUV in front of me that dropped off a precious little blonde haired girl excited to start her day.   She waved back to her mother and blew her a kiss.  It just so happened that this car was going the same direction as me.   I followed this car for about 5-6 miles.   As I followed this busy mom I became so frustrated I was literally SCREAMING at her from inside my truck.  Not once, not twice, but three times this mom ran across the center line of traffic and halfway into the lane of oncoming traffic before she would quickly correct her course.   One of these times she came very close to hitting an oncoming truck.  Even after this near brush with death the woman continued her erratic driving.  I was so tempted to follow her to where she was going and remind her that her little daughter and possibly husband needed her and she needed to stop looking at her phone and pay attention to the road!  I abstained from giving this woman a tongue-lashing.  I have all too often done the same thing.  My wife has gently scolded me as she reminds me that one glance at my phone could end my life.   This morning’s encounter reminded me that life is frail but so many other things have been reminding me of the same truth today.

Here are a few gentle nudges the Holy Spirit has given me.  Last night me healthy 38-year-old brother had a major surgery removing part of his colon.  The doctor said he would be in the hospital for at least two weeks with a very difficult recovery ensuing.   This morning I picked up the local paper and it had a picture of an awful wreck that killed a local man in my community.  Kenny Chesney’s song, “Don’t Blink” was on the radio this morning as I was driving to work.  All of these incidents remind me of the frail existence I take for granted most days.

The Bible tells us over and over again that life is short, frail, and fleeting.   The Bible describes the brevity of life as a blade of grass, a flower, and a vapor.  It is here one minute and gone the next.  This series of events in my life led me to the question as I was driving to work this morning, “If I died today would I be satisfied with the life that I’ve lived?”  The basic answer I came up with was, “yes and no.”  Yes, I am very satisfied! I am thankful for the job I have.  I am blessed with the best family and friends a person could ask for.  And, no, there are so many moments I am wasting and so many people I need to help and encourage.

I simply enjoy life.  I hurt…I go through trouble…I face people that do not like me, but when I take a step back and look at all my blessings it is vital to just stop, thank God, and enjoy life.

3 TRUTHS WE CANNOT AVOID

1)  Time does not stop nor does it slow down. 

2)  Our health is more fragile than we think it is.

3)  Death is coming to every one of us sooner than we think it is.

20-30 MINUTES EACH DAY THAT WILL MAKE YOUR ENTIRE LIFE BETTER 

I want to make my life count, as I am sure you do as well.  I want to challenge you for one week to do 4 things that busyness has prevented you from doing.

1)   HUG AND KISS YOUR SPOUSE (If you have one) FOR 1 FULL MINUTE EACH DAY – No, not the peck on the cheek or the quick hug as you are running out the door.  Take a solid minute…a whole minute…just wrap yourself up in their embrace and with all that you can, remind them that you deeply love them.

2)   REPEAT STEP ONE WITH YOUR CHILDREN

3)   HAVE MEANINGFUL CONVERSATIONS WITH THE MOST MEANINGFUL PEOPLE IN YOUR LIFE.  Most parents are so busy taking their children places they never take the time to stop and look their children in the eyes and just talk with them.  Would you take 5 minutes of your time today to talk to them…no phone…no distractions…just them and you.

4)   PRAY FOR 10 SOLID MINUTES.  No phone.  No Internet.  No Ipad.  No prayer sheet.   Take 10 minutes.  Sit in His presence.  Listen.  Talk.  This will radically change your life.

Do these 4 things for a week and I will promise you they will enrich your life. Water-Glass

2 thoughts on “Frail

  1. Wonderful post. Yes, our lives can take a turn at any moment. I know all too well. Thanks for this post (you are such an eloquent writer-makes you a great pastor)! I plan to share on my FB page and I’m taking your challenge!

  2. Thanks Rick we needed this today. We all need to be reminded of everything you just posted. In Jesus name I pray your blessing of healing for Pastor Rick Hermann’s brother. Amen! Thanks for the Challenge brother!

Leave a Reply

