The Wonder Of It All

Psalm 40:5 Many, O Lord my God, are the wonders which You have done, And Your thoughts toward us; There is none to compare with You.   If I would declare and speak of them, They would be too numerous to count.

I love doing things with my children.  Usually it is hard for me to get the energy to do what I need to do as a dad, but when I do what I should I never regret it.   I often regret moments of selfishness when I do not spend the time I need with my little ones.   At the time of this writing my twin girls are age three.  For their third birthday we bought them little princess bicycles with streamers and training wheels.  They were so excited to get their bikes and wanted to ride them right away.  They often rode tricycles at their grandparent’s house so I thought the transition would be a breeze…I was wrong.  I have taken them out many times to teach them to ride.  Each time we tried we would all end up frustrated and crying.   They were fearful and could not figure out the braking process.   As soon as they would slowly inch forward they would cry out, “Daddy!  Daddy!”  Each time I took them out to try to ride they would discover something new.   They would inch a little further.  Yesterday we went for a ride and they took off like never before.  This bike riding adventure gives a clear illustration of the bigger picture in parenting.  We inch them along day by day and then one day (tears) they no longer need us to hold them up.  This is the goal and blessing of parenting.  I try to keep in my mind each day that these few brief years I have small children cannot be wasted.  Soon they will ride away and start their own families.

We have many responsibilities to our children but we do not go unpaid.  Each day, if we make ourselves available and aware, our children provide for us priceless treasures in themselves.  They laugh, smile, hug, love, learn, and shine with the wonder of life that we as parents often forget.  We get bogged down with stress, bills, deadlines and responsibilities.  Children are our treasures that ground us to the joy and wonder of life.   Don’t miss the treasures that they are offering you today.

Leave a Reply

